Home Remedies: Preventing Stretch Marks

http://www.thecultureist.com/2014/01/03/green-living-secret-using-raw-organic-shea-butter-face-moisturizer/
http://www.thecultureist.com/2014/01/03/green-living-secret-using-raw-organic-shea-butter-face-moisturizer/

Throughout the past eight months I have experienced many pests brought along with the word Pregnancy. One of these pests is expected and practically unavoidable. Stretch marks!

Now, when I first brought up the subject and initial fears around these permanent marks I was told “There’s nothing you can do, you may as well accept them.” Although, accepting these tiger stripes was not the issue, the issue was trying to prevent my porcelain white skin from producing terrible tears through my abdomen.
The hunt was on! If no-one was to assist me in my search, I was doing it alone. After many trips to multiple Health Food stores: speaking with doctors: speaking with other expectant/new mothers: researching the web; I had finally found a possible solution! 

For only a mere $20 I purchased myself a jar of Now Solutions All Natural Raw Shea Butter. Shea butter is derived from tree nuts of the karite trees and is grown in Western and Central Africa. It is known to replenish oils and deep condition. 
Although, don’t be mistaken by the word butter! The contents of the jar are not a smooth and creamy solution; rather, a grainy off-white packed substance that looks almost of sugar. The touch is not one of butter either. The feeling is an odd soft yet grainy feeling that slowly melts to an oil between your fingers.
Now, every evening after my nightly shower starting from the beginning of a small belly forming (roughly 14 weeks along) I had begun to rub this oil across my stomach. Routinely I have been placing this butter across my stomach; now at 33 weeks along I have still to yet produce any stretch marks where I have been replenishing my skin with oils. My skin has stretched like I wouldn’t believe and my stomach protrudes from my body; yet, no stretch marks.
Although this natural oil works amazing on its own; I have also found recipes combining Shea butter with other oils and natural products to produce a butter that of which provides many different healing agents!

Fellow blogger shares her recipe here http://www.jellibeanjournals.com/pregnancy-belly-butter-recip/

Leave a Reply

